Plains Soldier Wins National Honor

By Beacon Staff

HELENA – The National Guard Bureau has announced that Sgt. Ryan Brubaker of Plains was named the Army National Guard’s noncommissioned officer of the year following a competition at Fort Benning, Ga.

The two-day competition includes events designed to stress the candidates both physically and mentally. Approximately 14 soldiers competed Aug. 1-2 for the right to be called the two best soldiers among the Army Guard’s more than 323,000 enlisted men and women and to advance to the Army’s “Best Warrior” competition for top soldier and noncommissioned officer.

Brubaker will next compete for the Department of the Army’s noncommissioned officer of the year honors at Fort Lee, Va. He is a member of B. Company, 1-163rd Cavalry Armored Battalion, headquartered in Missoula.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.