Montana’s Kroy Biermann Wins Buchanan Award

By Beacon Staff

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. (AP) – Montana defensive end Kroy Biermann won the Buck Buchanan Award on Thursday night as the top defensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Meanwhile, Georgia Southern quarterback Jayson Foster won the Walter Payton Award as the top offensive player and Northern Iowa coach Mark Farley won the Eddie Robinson Award.

Biermann, who also earned All-America honors from The Associated Press and the Walter Camp Foundation, was the Big Sky Conference’s defensive MVP. He led league and finished second in the nation with 15 sacks. He also had 17 tackles for a loss, five forced fumbles and 68 total tackles.

The senior from Hardin, Mont., is the first Griz player to receive the top defensive award, although Andy Petek (2000) and Vince Huntsberger (2001) have previously finished second in balloting.

“Obviously it is an amazing feeling to be recognized for such a prestigious award,” Biermann said. “To be chosen as the top defensive player in the FCS is truly a great experience. I know that other players who were up for this award all had amazing seasons and were just as deserving of it as I was. To receive the 2007 Buck Buchanan Award is truly a dream come true.”

Biermann finished his UM career with 33 sacks, 45 tackles for loss, nine forced fumbles and seven fumble recoveries in 52 career games. He started 22 games.

“I think some of the credit should go to my coaches, my teammates and to my university,” Biermann said. “To get the opportunity to be a part of the Montana Grizzly football program is something I am very thankful for and will cherish the rest of my life.”

Montana State junior linebacker Bobby Daly of Helena, Mont., was sixth in this year’s balloting.

Montana is the first program to win all three major awards presented by The Sports Network.

Quarterback Dave Dickenson won the Payton award in 1995 after leading the Grizzlies to the national championship and coach Joe Glenn, now at Wyoming, won the Robinson award in 2000.

The awards were presented on the eve of the Football Championship Subdivision championship game between Appalachian State and Delaware.