Following Six-Hole Playoff, Two Tie in Inaugural Beacon Golf Tournament

By Beacon Staff

Following a six-hole playoff, the pairing of Kyle Cianflone and Jason Vedadi tied Tyler Erickson and Rick Reimers as co-champions Tuesday in the inaugural Flathead Beacon Pro-Scratch tournament held at Eagle Bend and Big Mountain golf courses.

Both pairings followed scores of 67 at Eagle Bend Monday with 64s at Big Mountain on Tuesday. In the pro-am, the pairs’ lowest score on each hole is tallied into the total. Still, Eagle Bend golf pro Michael Wynne, said the winning golfers shot extremely low since the courses were set up to play long and the pin placements difficult.

Golf professionals Cianflone, of Hamilton, and Erickson, of Whitefish, each earned $1,775. As amateurs, Vedadi, of Spokane, and Reimers, of Bigfork, weren’t eligible for any purse money.

Maury Povich, who lives part of the year in Bigfork and owns the Flathead Beacon, funded the tournament and hopes to build on its early success.

“It was more than anyone would expect,” Povich said. “Every player has already signed up to come back. And we will probably enlarge the field”

Wynne said he has already begun planning next year’s tournament.

“(Povich) wants it to get bigger and better every year,” Wynne said.

The following are the two-day final scores, with the pros listed first:

Kyle Cianflone and Jason Vedadi 131
Tyler Erickson and Rick Reimers 131
Ryan Malby and Chuck Eble 134
Conner Sproull and Bob Gray, Jr. 134
David Owens and Brad Solander 135
Alan Haley and Eric Ross 135
Tim Olson and Shawn Tucker 136
Lon Hinkle and Maury Povich 138
Tom Stankowski and James Glidewell 138
Ty Weingart and Andy Malone 138
Michael Wynne and Blu Funk 138
Josh Gold and John Cole 138
Roger Wallace and Dave Cottington 140
Larry Barber and Gary Koprivica 140
Jess Roper and Logan Lindholm 141
Jeff Dooley and Jimmy Mee 141
Kyle Long and Keith Woznesensky 141
Brandon Ackers and Mike Watson 141
Jason Lehtola and Jake Wilson 142
Tom Clary and Ron Ramsey 142
Jason Edge and Dave Morberg 143
Jack Millard and Joe Arriaga 144
Guy Ask and Bill Simmons 146
Marcus Erickson and Conor Keenan 146
DJ Guerrero and Brian Anzjon 147
Eric Woods and Haeseung Lee 149
Cameron Milton and Kiel Duckworth 150
John Dewitt and Lee Montoya 154

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.