Democratic Write-In Ballots Favored Curry in Sheriff’s Race

By Beacon Staff

Democrats may not have been able to vote in the Flathead County Sheriff’s primary election June 8, since all three candidates were Republicans, but that didn’t stop some voters from writing in their preferred candidate. And the results of the Democratic write-in ballots roughly tracked those of Republicans, with Chuck Curry winning over incumbent Mike Meehan and Lance Norman.

Monica Eisenzimer, Flathead County recording and election services manager, said any names written on Democratic ballots didn’t count toward the vote totals, since it was a Republican primary. But election workers still tallied the number of votes those write-in candidates received. Eisenzimer added that workers did not bother recording write-in votes for fictional characters like Donald Duck, or insults directed at election officials, such as, “Bite Me.”

Here’s a list of the top, write-in sheriff candidates on Democratic ballots, as they appeared on those ballots; any spelling errors in names are taken straight from the ballots.

Chuck Curry 219
Mike Meehan 82
Lance Norman 52
Scott Warnell 10
Ed Corrigan 2
Bill Dial 2
Jim Dupont 2
Bill Goodman 2
Dave Ebert 2
Doug Nelson 2
Terry Thorpe 2
Patrick Walsh 2
Joseph Young 2
A. Adkins 1
T. McDonald 1
P. Meredith 1
E. Sievers 1
Cliff Schimpff 1

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.