Two Griz Players on Payton Watch List

By Beacon Staff

MISSOULA – Two University of Montana football players — Chase Reynolds and Andrew Selle — are on the initial 2010 Walter Payton Award watch list.

The Sports Network gives the award to the top offensive player in the Football Championships Subdivision.

Reynolds rushed for 1,502 yards and 22 touchdowns as a junior, finishing 13th in Payton voting last year. Selle passed for 3,043 yards and 28 touchdowns as Montana advanced to the FCS title game last season.

Other Big Sky players on the watch list are quarterbacks Michael Herrick of Northern Arizona and Cameron Higgins of Weber State along with Eastern Washington running back Taiwan Jones. The list also includes quarterback Chris Whitney and wide receiver Matt Szczur (SEE’-zur) of defending national champion Villanova.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.