Two Junior State Golf Champions From Kalispell

By Beacon Staff

Kalispell had two state champions at the Montana Junior State Championship golf tournament, held on July 25-26 at Helena’s Bill Roberts Golf Course. Throw in a champion from Libby, and three of the five overall junior champions came from Northwest Montana.

Teigan Avery of Kalispell pulled off the most dominant performance, cruising to a 16-stroke victory in the girls’ 10-13 age category. Avery shot an 81 and 83 set the tournament record for her age group.

Kalispell’s Ryan Porch won the boys’ 15-17 age category with 141. Porch shot an opening round score of 70, followed by a 71, to win his bracket by seven strokes. Kalispell almost had a third champion, but Cody Sherrill lost the boys’ 13-14 title in a playoff to Missoula’s Patrick Colberg. Both Sherrill and Colberg finished regulation play with 153.

Ryggs Johnston of Libby won the boys’ 10-12 group with a 154, narrowly defeating Ryan Keenan of Bigfork, who shot a 155.

Cayley Fish of Great Falls won the girls’ 14-17 division with a 164, which was 10 strokes better than second-place Claire Kelly of Polson.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.