Football All-Stars Named to Badlands Bowl Roster

By Beacon Staff

Four Northwest Montana football players have been selected to play in the Knights of Columbus Badlands Bowl, which pits the best of Montana’s all-stars against the best North Dakota has to offer.

Travis Knoll, who led Bigfork to the Class B state title, is one of three running backs on Montana’s roster. The region’s other three players on the roster are Glacier offensive lineman Joel Horn, Columbia Falls receiver Kaleb Johnson and Glacier defensive back Bryan Chery.

Nate Thompson of Columbia Falls was chosen as an alternate at running back.

The game will be played at Denton Field in Miles City at 6 p.m. on June 18. North Dakota won last year’s game in Dickinson, 41-38. Montana leads the all-time series 12-5.

For more information on the Badlands Bowl, including its history, visit

2011 Montana Badlands Bowl Roster


-Cole Moller,Billings Central
-Matt Berg, Butte

Running Backs:

-Travis Knoll, Bigfork
-Justin Pierson, Bozeman
-Tyler Molyneaux, Chinook

Wide Receivers:

-Jake Olsen, Great Falls
-Chase Ballantyne, Shelby
-Dunk Abbott, Butte
-Kaleb Johnson, Columbia Falls


-Ryan Armstrong, Miles City

Offensive Line:

-Joel Horn, Kalispell Glacier
-John Schmaing, Billings Senior
-Kyle Godecke, Dillon
-Ben Gleason, Billings West
-David Swecker, Laurel
-John Werner, Billings Central

Tight Ends:

-Kyle Stanton, Miles City

Defensive Ends/Line:

-Jesse Ginn, Missoula Hellgate
-Marc Evans, Bozeman
-Nate Bignell, Drummond
-Heath Hunter, Bozeman
-Dylan Donahue, Billings West
-David Meis, Helena


-Trey Spirlin, Helena Capital
-Sean Blomquist, Helena
-Gavin Hagfors, Great Falls CMR
-Max Tolstadt, Billings Central
-Jonathan Richards, Butte Central

Defensive Backs:

-Shane Cooley, Miles City
-Connor Lebsock, Billings Skyview
-Brad Nordahl, Frenchtown
-Zach Gratton, Billings Senior
-Matt Patterson, Fairfield
-Bryan Chery, Kalispell Glacier


Chase White, Shelby; Jacob Grover, Helena Capital; Ryan Guelff, Billings Skyview; Matt McCoy, Plentywood; Ethan Albrecht, Laurel; Dan Thatcher, Butte Central; Mike Huth, Townsend; John Weidenaar, Manhattan; Brian Mannix, Drummond; Nate Thompson, Columbia Falls; Trevor Bolton, Great Falls; Trevor Shellenberg, Bozeman; Graham Bogumill, Helena; Layne Johnson, Miles City; Brock Calvi, Cut Bank; Chris Kurkowski, Miles City; Zane Foster, St. Ignatius; Brandon Hansard, Glasgow; Nate Hinrichs, Helena; Chico Stipe, Charlo; Adam DeBruycker, Choteau; Levi Cade, Belgrade; Tanner Gambill, Forsyth

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.