Jefferson Grabs Wire-to-Wire Montana 200 Victory

By Beacon Staff

Jeff Jefferson of Naches, Wash., won wire-to-wire at the Montana 200 last weekend, becoming just the fourth driver in 22 years to win the signature event multiple times.

Jefferson, who also won the 200 at Montana Raceway Park in 2006, held off runner-up Ryan Wells of Hingham and third place Jason Fraser of Snohomish, Wash., on Saturday night. Wells passed Fraser with six laps remaining to secure second place, his best finish ever at the 200. Garrett Evans of Wenatchee, Wash., placed fourth and Shelby Thompson of Mead, Wash., was fifth. Last year’s winner, Shane Mitchell of East Wenatchee, Wash., finished sixth.

Kalispell’s Agni Howell was the top local finisher, placing ninth. Kalispell’s Bodie Morton placed 15th. Four-time winner Gary Lewis collided tires with Morton on lap 167, causing Morton to cut a tire and hit the turn three wall. This accident ended Morton’s night.

Jefferson, who placed ninth in last year’s 200, entered this year’s main event with a first-place qualifying position.

22nd Annual Montana 200
1. Jeff Jefferson
2. Ryan Wells
3. Jason Fraser
4. Garrett Evans
5. Shelby Thompson
6. Shane Mitchell
7. Dan Obrist
8. Jonathon Gomez
9. Agni Howell
10. Gary Lewis
11. Dave Garber
12. Blake Williams
13. Jason Jefferson
14. Wrango West
15. Bodie Morton
16. BJ Tidrick
17. Cameron Hayley
18. Tim Elliott
19. Mike Longton
20. Owen Riddle
21. Braeden Havens
22. Trevor Emond
23. Alex Lessor
24. Eric Schmidt
25. Erick Hargraves
26. Chris Skelton