Grizzlies, Bobcats Select Team Captains

By Beacon Staff

The University of Montana and Montana State football teams voted for their captains for the upcoming season.

Montana coach Mick Delaney announced last week that the players had chosen linebackers Brock Coyle of Bozeman and Jordan Tripp Missoula as defensive captains while quarterback Jordan Johnson of Eugene, Ore., and tackle Danny Kistler Jr. of Seattle were named offensive captains.

Johnson missed the 2012 season as he faced a rape trial. He was acquitted in March.

Montana opens the season with an Aug. 31 home game against Appalachian State.

Montana State coach Rob Ash says this year’s team leaders are wide receiver Tanner Bleskin of Great Falls, running back Cody Kirk of Frenchtown, defensive end Brady Daly of Helena and linebacker Na’a Moeakiola of Euless, Texas.

Montana State opens its 2013 schedule on Aug. 29 at home against Monmouth.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.