Columbia Falls Teachers of the Year Announced

By Beacon Staff

The Columbia Falls Teachers Union recently announced the 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year recipients.

Winners of the annual award were selected by their peers in each respective building.

At Ruder Elementary the honor went to Amy Sempf, who has 14 years in District Six and currently teaches first grade. Sempf holds degrees in elementary education and early childhood development from Jamestown University.

Glacier Elementary chose Nora Geary, who has 29 years in District Six and currently teaches third grade. Geary holds a BA in elementary education from Carroll College.

Columbia Falls Junior High honored English teacher Kim Gange, who has 17 years in the district and holds a BA from the University of North Dakota and a secondary education certification from the University of Montana.

Columbia Falls High chose Wes Knutson, who recently retired after 26 years of teaching health and P.E. and coaching wrestling, track and football. Knutson holds a BA in Health Professions Education from the University of Montana.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.