Kalispell Residents Rebuke City, Repeal Airport Upgrades

By Beacon Staff

Kalispell residents rejected the city’s proposed upgrades at the municipal airport on Election Day. There were 1,886 votes in favor of repealing Resolution No. 5572 and 1,535 against.

The city must now return to the drawing board and decide what to do with the 84-year-old airport without the proposed upgrades in the latest master plan update.

Incumbent Jim Atkinson, the longest serving councilor in Kalispell, retained his seat in Ward 3 for another four years, garnering 428 votes, or 54 percent. Karlene Osorio-Khor received 281 votes, or 35 percent, and Jason Mueller received 81, or 10 percent.

Sandy Mundahl Carlson defeated Joseph Apple, 445-150, to earn a new seat on the city council for Ward 1. She will replace longtime councilor Bob Hafferman, who is retiring.

Mark Johnson is officially Kalispell’s next mayor after running unopposed. He will replace Tammi Fisher in January.

Incumbent Tim Kluesner retained his Ward 4 seat unopposed.

Newcomer Chad Graham ran unopposed in Ward 2 and will take over for Jeff Zauner, who opted against running for another term.

Lori Adams retained her seat as municipal judge after running unopposed.

Click here for election results.

Ward Breakdown of Airport Vote
Ward 1
For Repeal — 355
Against Repeal — 357

Ward 2
For Repeal — 559
Against Repeal — 576

Ward 3
For Repeal — 470
Against Repeal — 361

Ward 4
For Repeal — 502
Against Repeal — 241

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.