Cats, Griz Honored by Big Sky Conference

By Beacon Staff

HELENA — Four Montana football players and two from Montana State received first-team all-conference honors from the Big Sky Conference.

Montana State defensive end Brad Daly shared the league’s defensive MVP honor while Bobcat return specialist Shawn Johnson also received first-team honors.

The Montana players who received first-team honors are tackle Danny Kistler, defensive end Zach Wagenmann and outside linebackers Jordan Tripp and John Kanongata’a.

Seven Montana players received second-team honors: offensive guard William Poehls, center Kjelby Oiland, return specialist Ellis Henderson, defensive tackle Alex Bienemann, inside linebacker Brock Coyle, cornerback Anthony Goodwin Sr., and safety Matt Hermanson.

Four Bobcats received second-team honors: tight end Tiai Salanoa, running back Cody Kirk, cornerback Deonte Flowers Jr., and Chad Newell on special teams.

The expanded conference added a third-team all-conference this year.

Montana State wide receiver Tanner Bleskin and offensive guard J.P. Flynn were honored along with Montana quarterback Jordan Johnson, fullback Jamal Wilson, tackle Tonga Takai and special teams player Ellis Henderson.

Both teams had nine players receive honorable mention honors.

Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Davis was named the league’s offensive player of the year, while Daly shared defensive honors with defensive tackle Sullivan Grosz of Cal Poly. UC Davis running back Gabe Manzanares Jr., was named the newcomer of the year and EWU wide receiver Cooper Kupp earned first-team honors and was named freshman of the year.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.