Helena’s Reed Wins Gatorade Montana Boys Cross Country Award

Helena junior won the Class AA state championship in 15:22.81

By Beacon Staff

Aidan Reed of Helena was named the 2014-15 Gatorade Montana Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year.  Reed is the first cross country runner chosen from Helena High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Reed as Montana’s best high school boys cross country runner.

The 5-foot-7, 120-pound junior raced to the Class AA individual state championship with a time of 15:22.81 this past season. A two-time Class AA All-State honoree, Reed clocked 14:51.30 at the Butte Invitational and 15:58.40 at the Great Falls Invitational, which respectively ranked as the state’s fastest three-mile and 5K times of the season. He finished 100th at the Nike Cross Nationals Northwest Regional championships in 18:07.90.

Reed has maintained a 3.93 GPA in the classroom and has served in his school’s student government as president of the sophomore class in 2013-14. A contributor to the student newspaper and a participant in the Montana Model United Nations, he has volunteered as part of an anti-drug campaign and on behalf of the Montana Historical Society in addition to donating his time maintaining Helena High’s cross country trail.

“Aidan’s work ethic is second-to-none,” said Ed Darfler, head coach of rival Capital High. “He is always working to improve and willing to help other runners improve their racing skills. I would be honored to have him on my cross country team, not for his running ability, but for the leadership, poise and confidence that is a part of who he is. Aidan is an outstanding ambassador for Montana boys cross country.”

Reed joins Gatorade Montana Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Jason Holmes (2013-14, Bozeman High School), Zach Perrin (2012-13, Flathead High School), Jakob Woodland (2011-12, Bozeman High School), Jacob Turner (2010-11, Sentinel High School), Mike Asay (2009-10, Manhattan), Drew Coco (2008-09, Whitefish), and Patrick Casey (2007-08, Laurel) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

For a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit www.gatorade.com/poy.

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.