Montana Coaches Association Names Spring Award Winners

Glacier's Deck, Bigfork's Loeffler, Polson's Hislop all earn coach of the year honors

By Andy Viano
Sue Loeffler, pictured at Bigfork High School on April 5, 2018. Greg Lindstrom | Flathead Beacon

The Montana Coaches Association will recognize five more Northwest Montana coaches and a pair of student-athletes at its annual awards presentation on Aug. 2 in Great Falls.

The spring season brought Montana Coach of the Year awards for Glacier High School’s Arron Deck (Class AA Boys Track and Field), Bigfork’s Sue Loeffler (Class B Girls Track and Field) and Polson’s Bob Hislop (Class A Girls Tennis). All three coaches led their respective teams to state championships this spring.

In addition, Flathead’s Jeff Anderson has been named one of two MCA Assistant Coaches of the Year after helping the Braves to a second consecutive Class AA wrestling title. Bigfork’s Heather Epperly, the school’s 27-year cheerleading coach, will also be recognized with the MCA Spirit Award.

Those five coaches will be joined at the annual awards presentation by Bigfork’s Sam Tudor (Class B Boys Basketball) and Flathead’s Jeff Thompson (Class AA Wrestling) who were previously announced as their sport’s coach of the year.

Two recent graduates are also going to be recognized for their contributions in August. Glacier’s Caden Harkins and Bigfork’s Logan Taylor will each receive $750 scholarships to put toward their college educations. Both boys were three-sport athletes in football, basketball, and track and field.

For more information and a complete list of winners, visit

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.