2018 Election Guide

Local and statewide candidates lay out their platforms; plus, tracking Montana's ballot initiatives

By Beacon Staff
Illustration by Julianna Marttila | Flathead Beacon

Early voting for the Nov. 6 general election to decide a slate of key races began Oct. 12 when absentee ballots were mailed out, with approximately 32,000 Flathead County voters having registered to vote by absentee out of the more than 68,000 total registered voters.

This year’s ballot includes two sheets of paper; both sheets need to be returned by 8 p.m. Nov. 6.

In order to vote in Flathead County elections, a person must be 18 years old or older on or before the next election, a citizen of the United States, have resided in Montana and Flathead County for at least 30 days and be registered to vote.

To register to vote, visit the county Election Department at 40 11th St. W., Suite 230 in Kalispell, in the South Campus Building weekdays between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. For regular registration, a voter registration form must be postmarked or received by the Election Department at least 30 days before the election.

For late registration (anytime after the close of regular registration), a voter must appear in person at the Election Department up to and including Election Day, fill out a voter registration card, and vote a ballot that they receive from the election office staff.

To find your polling place, determine which precinct you’re in, track your absentee ballot, or view a sample ballot, click on the “My Voter Page” button on the Flathead County Election Department website at flathead.mt.gov/election/.

Here is the Beacon’s first round of Q & As with local candidates; profile of the county commission race; and coverage of statewide races and initiatives. Next week, we will feature local Senate candidates and the race for Justice of the Peace.

Montana State Auditor Matt Rosendale, left, and incumbent Sen. Jon Tester.Beacon file photos

Tester-Rosendale Race for U.S. Senate Coming Down to Wire

With President Donald Trump looming large, candidates enter stretch run of heated election


Kathleen Williams, left, and Greg Gianforte. Beacon file photos

Gianforte, Williams Square Off in Heated U.S. House Race

A Democrat has not held Montana’s at-large seat in 24 years


Sign encouraging people to vote for I-185 near Kalispell Regional Healthcare in Kalispell. Justin Franz | Flathead Beacon

Tracking Montana’s Ballot Initiatives

Two separate measures would raise tobacco tax to pay for Medicaid, add mining regulations


Flathead County Courthouse. Beacon file photo

A Race to Run the County

The race for the Flathead County Commission District 3 seat comes down to a Republican firefighter and a Democrat plumber


Republican Jerry O’Neil, left, and incumbent Democrat Zac Perry.

House District 3

Incumbent Democrat Zac Perry vs. Republican Jerry O’Neil


Democrat Kwen Shirley, left, and Republican incumbent Matt Regier

House District 4

Democrat Kwen Shirley vs. incumbent Republican Matt Regier


Democrat Dave Fern, left, and Libertarian Cindy Dyson.

House District 5

Incumbent Democrat Dave Fern vs. Libertarian Cindy Dyson


Democrat Mary Custer, left, and Republican Carl Glimm

House District 6

Incumbent Republican Carl Glimm vs. Democrat Mary Custer


Incumbent Republican Frank Garner, left, and Democrat Jim Cossitt.

House District 7

Incumbent Republican Frank Garner vs. Democrat Jim Cossitt


Republican John Fuller, left, and Libertarian Sid Daoud.

House District 8

Republican John Fuller vs. Libertarian Sid Daoud


Republican David Dunn

House District 9

Republican David Dunn vs. Democrat Robert Petersen


Libertarian Bill Jones, left, and Republican Mark Noland.

House District 10

Incumbent Republican Mark Noland vs. Libertarian Bill Jones


Democrat JoBeth Blair, left, and Republican Derek Skees.

House District 11

Incumbent Republican Derek Skees vs. Democrat JoBeth Blair


Democrat Susan T. Evans, left, and Republican Greg Hertz.

House District 12

Incumbent Republican Greg Hertz vs. Democrat Susan T. Evans

Stay Connected with the Daily Roundup.

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of the Beacon delivered every day to your inbox.